Your check or your receipt will be your temporary license until your application has been approved. Upon approval, a Business License Certificate will be mailed to you (approximately 4 weeks from receipt of application). Your Certificate should be posted at the place of business so the public can see that you have a business license. If you need your customer number to start a checking account for your business, we can give you your number 2 working days after receipt of the application and check. Once you have applied for a license we will verify to all callers that you have a license.
Businesses that are government exempt must complete a business license application and submit documentation from Federal or State showing exemption. They are exempt from fees.
After the first year of starting a business, a business is exempt if the gross receipts are less than $10,000. Upon renewal in June, submit a copy of the federal taxes for the prior year showing gross receipts under $10,000. (Only the first page is needed.) Return the renewal invoice with the Federal tax information.
The following criteria meet the Exemption Status:
Non-Profit organizations as defined in Section 501 (1), (2) or (3) of the Internal Revenue Code
IRS or State letter granting exempt status.
Businesses exempt from local taxation by virtue of the constitution or applicable statutes of the United States or the State of California.
Businesses conducting any entertainment, concert, exhibition or lecture on scientific, historical, literary or charitable subjects within the Town whenever all the gross receipts of any such entertainment, concert, exhibition or lecture are to be appropriated to any church or school or to any charitable purpose within the Town.
Businesses with annual gross receipts less than $10,000 per year. New businesses must apply for a license for their first year of business - and may request a fee waiver the following year by submitting federal tax return forms by August 15th following the end of license year.
Schedule C or appropriate federal tax form.
Businesses which rent or lease no more than four residential dwelling units to others.
All Business serving or conducting business in Danville must have a Business License. This includes: Contractors, Services, or Construction pulling a TOWN OF DANVILLE of permit; and, Vendors of the TOWN OF DANVILLE (Consultants, Services, Instructors, & etc).
The Yearly License fee is $100 plus $10 per employee per year plus $1 state fee (AB1186) .
If you have part-time workers: count 1 employee = for every 35 hours/week.
The fiscal year for a business license is July1-June30.
New businesses that start during the year are prorated as follows:
Home businesses must also submit a Home Occupation Application with the Business License Application.
Yearly fees are due by July 1st. Penalty charges of 25% of billed amount will be assessed on August 1st and interest at 1-1/2% will be added each month after September 1st.
The State of California State and Use Tax Rate increased from 8.25% to 8.50%. This rate will be in effect from January 1, 2013 to December 31, 2016.
To obtain a listing
Fill out a Public Record Request Form and submit to the Finance Department at the Town of Danville.
Town of Danville
510 La Gonda Way
Danville, CA 94526
>> Map It
Business License: (925) 314-3326
Economic Development: (925) 314-3369
Retail Incentives Program: (925) 314-3369
Monday - Friday: 8:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Online Business License Renewal
Below is a step-by-step guide of how to start a business in Danville.
Business Resource Guide
Businesses located within commercial districts of Danville are eligible to have a free business listing on the www.shopdanvillefirst.com website. When completing your business license form, make sure to complete the Shop Danville Section, so we can help market your business.
Businesses who have a listing, click here for instructions to update your business profile on the website.